120 new Covid cases reported in Punjab, Haryana & Himachal Pradesh

The northern states of Punjab, Haryana, and Himachal Pradesh reported 120 new cases of Covid-19 on Sunday along with nine deaths. Six of the deaths and 54 cases were in Punjab. The state's death toll reached 16,266 and the overall case count moved to 5,98,794.


 The state vaccinated just 25,911 people on Sunday and received two new cases of Mucormycosis, taking its tally to 659 and its death toll to 51. The state had 699 active cases of Covid-19 and it did another 34,343 tests. Also, 117 patients recovered and the positivity rate reached 0.16%.

Haryana reported 22 new cases, besides two deaths and 45 recoveries. Also, 20 of its 22 districts reported no death and 13 had no new case. Hisar and Bhiwani lost a patient each. The state vaccinated 40,877 people, of which 25,525 got the first dose, while 15,352 received the second. The overall coverage reached 1,10,19,660. The overall Covid tally of 7,69,739 includes 7,59,405 recoveries, 9,619 deaths, and 715 active cases, including 171 in home isolation.

The day’s Covid positivity rate was 0.09%, while the positivity rate of the second wave declined to 9.90%. Gurgaon reported the highest seven cases, followed by three each in Palwal and Faridabad districts. two each in Karnal, Rohtak, and Yamunanagar, and one each in Hisar, Panipat, and Sirsa. The recovery rate increased to 98.66%, while the cumulative fatality rate was stable at 1.25%. Also, the day’s 21,248 tests took the testing rate to 4,23,141 per million, while the overall test score reached 1,07,26,632.

Himachal Pradesh reported one death, 44 fresh cases, and 133 recoveries. The overall tally of 2,05,061 includes 841 active cases, 2,00,704 recoveries and 3,498 deaths. The new positive cases include 13 from Chamba district, followed by eight from Mandi, seven from Shimla, six from Kangra, four from Kullu, two each from Bilaspur and Solan, and one each from Kinnaur and Una.

Chamba district recorded 34 recoveries, followed by Shimla (28), Kangra (20), Mandi (17), Hamirpur (10), Bilaspur (8), Kullu (6), Solan and Una (4 each), and Kinnaur (2).